Tel: 01633 483321

Portal 2020

Portal 2020

03 October 2020 until 14 November 2020

Main Gallery

Fifteen Graduates from universities across Wales have been included in ‘Portal 2020’, an annual exhibition of emerging applied artists, held at Llantarnam Grange Arts Centre (LGAC). In lieu of the usual private view, visitors are encouraged to see the work first through Llantarnam Grange Art Centre’s Instagram Live (@llantarnam_grange), at 1pm, Saturday 3rd October. 


The exhibition will feature artists graduating from colleges and universities across Wales and England, and across the applied arts too; with work on show including textiles, ceramics, cameraless photography, illustration and much more. This selection of artists shows the range of applications that applied arts has not only to the real world, but to its ability to imagine new and possible futures.


As the usual buzz of a private view will not take place this year, Llantarnam Grange Arts Centre are encouraging visitors and arts enthusiasts to watch a full walk-through on Instagram Live of the exhibition with Exhibitions Assistant and co-Curator of Portal 2020, Savanna Dumelow. The need for artists and their work will always be needed to make sense of the world, to fulfill the deep human need for creativity and expression, and for the human condition to continue to grow and adapt, as we have done for generations.


The artists selected for inclusion this year are: Nicole Allard (University of Wales Trinity Saint Davids), Nathan Barnard (Cardiff Metropolitan University),  Sian Broderick (Carmarthen Schol of Art),  Cathryn Gwynn (Carmarthen School of Art),  Rhian Herbert (Carmarthen School of Art),  Grace Hubbard-Smith (Prifysgol Aberystwyth), Denise Johansen (University of Hertfordshire), Karen Jones (Cardiff Metropolitan University), Imogen Mills (Carmarthen School of Art),  Ffion Morgan (Cardiff Metropolitan University),  Jess Parry (University of Wales Trinity Saint David),  Ceridwen Powell (Wolverhampton), Amy Sainsbury (Cardiff Metropolitan University),  Maria Elorza Saralegui (Cardiff Metropolitan University),  Jasmine Sheckleford (Carmarthen School of Art).